Breaking a sweat around the room

icebreaker

Image via

I’ve found my self in this situation more times than I care to remember.

Picture this, you’re in a classroom, or a meeting room, or a conference room and the lead/organiser/teacher decides to play that ever so freaking awesome game of ‘breaking the ice’. Yes, that’s right, the one where you are expected to say something ‘fun’ or ‘unique’ about yourself so that a whole room of people you just met will get to know you better. There are always the eager beavers who go into their whole life story hoping to pick up some Facebook fiends. Then there are those who make it really awkward for themselves and the lead by saying “I have nothing” and stare back awkwardly. The lead then pushes for it, “C’mon you must have something, anything will do”. But then they say “No I really have nothing”. The whole room just fills up with awkward twitches… Then there is me, who does not enjoy this at all.  I rather prefer to slowly orientate myself. I am not so adverse to it to the point of having some kind of panic attack, but nevertheless, I dislike it. So I thought I would share the top 3 types of thoughts that go through my head when I need to participate in this slippery ‘fun fact’ exercise

  • I generally get caught off guard, so the first few minutes I am racking my brains to think of something to say. it can’t be too ridiculous or too boring, but for some reason every thought/idea that comes to my head fall into either one of those categories. I dream for that day when I blurt out that perfect fun fact and in return the room just stares back at me in awe and amazement and then blazes into a fit of applause and hysteria.
  • I hope for the ‘Tolstoys’ of the room to keep carrying on. The longer they carry on about their lives from birth till their 38th birthday celebrations last week, the more time it takes up. This way we might run out of time and the rest of us would be spared.
  • I hope that no one else steals my interesting fact. What do you do when that happens? You already sifted through a lot to come up with it, and then the person before you just happened to have the same experience as you did. Panic! In this situation, it is best not to blurt out the first thing which comes to your mind – because panic and first thing to come out of your mouth usually results in words to the effect of: “My dog eats it’s own poo”…which will then be followed thereafter by those aforementioned awkward stares and silence. You have not just broken the ice, you have ploughed right through it with devastating effect…

So, if you are like me and spend most of your time thinking about what to say, do you really pay attention to what anyone else says? Has the exercise really done what it was supposed to? Do you now know everyone’s name and something about them?

I haven’t always been in these kind of unproductive ice breakers. Some of the ones I have participated in have been far more engaging and more collaborative, which I find more relaxing and more effective. I find that you interact more as opposed to when you are sitting in a circle in a room speaking one at a time. What do you think?

Also, I would like to think I am not alone in this. Who else has this strange paranoia?

Submitted to the Daily Post

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Gloves | Bright Moments Catcher
  2. Lots of details | Bright Moments Catcher
  3. Shadow on the wall | Bright Moments Catcher
  4. I said Walk, not Stop… | We Live In A Flat
  5. Daily Prompt: Public | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  6. Hymen | shame
  7. Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks | Under the Monkey Tree
  8. i had the naked dream again… | wannabepoet
  9. All Eyes On Me [Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks] | unknowinglee
  10. Daily Prompt: hide me away | storyofmylife1993
  11. Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks « Mama Bear Musings
  12. Memorization: Works Outside of Class Only | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  13. Naked? With Socks? In Public? No Cops? Bring it On. | lessthanthreechickens
  14. Overcoming The Fear Of Public Speaking | The Jittery Goat
  15. Comfort really depends on the situation. « RPMAS
  16. Nude Speaking! | alienorajt
  17. Naked with Black Socks? Oh no, wait…it’s not. | thoughtsofrkh
  18. Give Me A Crowd | Tony’s Texts
  19. daily prompt: naked with black socks | r | one studio architecture
  20. I like to be on stage rather in audiencce | મન ની વાત
  21. The Elegance of Being Eloquent | MC’s Whispers
  22. Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks | genieve celada | photography
  23. Daily Prompt: Naked | horsesofthesun
  24. the UNCATEGORISED |Daily Prompt: PUBLIC | the TRASH BASH
  25. THE NAKED TRUTH | Dear Yolandi
  26. Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks | My Atheist Blog
  27. Hot and Fluid, Like I Was On Fire With Anxiety | sayanything
  28. Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  29. Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks | life n me!
  30. I Don’t Have A Problem Telling It To Your Face… With A Smile | Molly Greye
  31. Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks | The Story of a Guy
  32. Daily Prompt: Naked with black socks | Exploring Utah with MS and Apples
  33. Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks | Jasper Smits
  34. Not now | Life is great
  35. Daily Prompt : Naked with black socks | Valley Girl Gone Country
  36. Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks | lifebeinggirly
  37. DP: Naked with Black Socks | A Blog’s Life
  38. Quiet and Intensely Private, Publicly Speaking | The Silver Leaf Journal
  39. Public: MOUNTAIN MAN RENDEZVOUS | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
  40. Daily Post Challenge – Thinking of them in their underwear doesn’t help one bit. | Reinvention of Mama
  41. Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks | Lux
  42. The Perils of Public Speaking | Just Visiting This Planet
  43. Camera Shy | Conversations
  44. Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks….(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  45. Gotta Wanna | CurTales
  46. “Manners maketh man” | Hope* the happy hugger
  47. Becoming more comfortable with public speaking | Curious Jac
  48. If You Have a Blog… You’re Naked and Loving It (sometimes reluctantly) | An Upturned Soul
  49. Willie Wednesday Goes Public! The Post that Gives You The Willies. | Janey Macken Street!
  50. Private Speaking! | suhaaandiaries
  51. Look pretty, talk smart. | Crossroads
  52. No Way To Hide | Flowers and Breezes
  53. With or without the mic, that’s the question | The Nameless One
  54. So you want to be in a female dance troupe ? | The Land Slide Photography
  55. Really? Naked with black Socks?? | It’s a Fine Line
  56. The Otter in my Jotter
  57. Am I really comfortable in front of people? | Rob’s Surf Report
  58. Presentation | crookedeyebrows
  59. Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks | Vagabond
  60. We are free | vicbriggs’s Blog
  61. The ugly F | Romelga writes
  62. Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks | The Daily Post | The Blogging Path
  63. Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks | College Girl Dai
  64. Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks | Let There be Peace on Earth
  65. Daily Prompt: To Shy or Not to Shy | One Starving Activist
  66. Public Speaking? Oh please… (don’t make me do it!) | Perhaps yes, perhaps no. Exactly? I don’t know.
  67. No need for that silliness | djgarcia94
  68. “Naked with Black Socks” | Extraordinary Living Blogs
  69. Hitting the Switch | Cheri Speak
  70. Naked with Black Socks – Socially Connected
  71. Daily Prompt: Public, music anywhere, everywhere | @ The West Gate
  72. Public | Sincerely, Ms. Roberts
  73. Daily Prompt: Legs Wide Open (Straddling the Myers Briggs) | and yadda yadda yadda…i made aliyah
  74. Daily Prompt; Naked With Black Socks | terry1954
  75. Duncan the Sushi Roll #12 | Neva Samaki
  76. Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks | Steve Says….
  77. Pinay New Yorker | Daily Prompt: In the Spotlight
  78. Xenoclokeion Pancosmopolitanicon, or, the public and The Great Exhibition of 1851 | James Clegg
  79. Daily Prompt: the naked truth | Tell Tale Therapy
  80. I would love to learn the art of good story telling !! | The Seminary of Praying Mantis
  81. Daily Prompt – Naked with Black Socks | Life as a country bumpkin…not a city girl
  82. Suicide no. 13: Naked Dream | derekalanwilkinson
  83. Naked With Black Socks… definitely an interesting image | Nothing is more beautiful than a smile
  84. Day 261: Public Speaking | 365 Days of Thanks
  85. Blog birthday and a daily prompt… | My Top Fives…
  86. Black Socks Down | Edward Hotspur
  87. Knee Knocking Fear | Along Life’s Road
  88. Daily post: Public speaking? | helen meikle’s scribblefest
  89. Professional Speaker for Hire | Live Life Tr3mendously
  90. Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks | Amanda’s Blog™
  91. Going Public | februarylove18
  92. Shaky Knees | Never Stationary
  93. Secret to Public Speaking is . . . | Iam Who Iam
  94. What if I was naked? With black socks. | Okay, what if ?
  95. Dive Right In | Wiley’s Wisdom
  96. Staring into the Crowd | Daily Prompt | Word Disorder
  97. Speaking with Confidence – Daily Prompt | Warm Welcomes
  98. Mừng tuổi 2 năm của trang nhà Suonglamportland.wordpress.com | suonglamportland
  99. A Public Audience | tjbarkerseattle
  100. Public speaking | Sue’s Trifles

12 thoughts on “Breaking a sweat around the room

  1. Uh, yeah. Totally hate this. I’ve even had to endure this with people I’ve known for quite some time. We had a guest speaker in class who made us think of something not only interesting, but something that the people I had already spent two years with wouldn’t already know. Seriously? After two years, I’ve used all my good material. Or at least the stuff I’m willing to admit.

    And yes, the whole time I’m trying to think of something witty to say and in the end I know nothing about these people I’m supposed to be getting to know.

    • I know, I really don’t see the point when they are people you have already spent time with. I really think that a more ‘involved’ exercise will always get people engaged in a deeper way.

  2. Pingback: The illegal name | Life is great

  3. Pingback: Me – Zermatt, Switzerland | alternative.reality

  4. Been there far too many times. It’s like “What do you do for a living?” is supposed to define you as well. Horse turds. Be yourself and wonder what lives do they really live. I wonder how many people in the world are really named Sherlock?

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name That … You! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: What is in the name… | Me: A Wannabe-Superhero

  7. Pingback: What’s in a name? | Natasha's Memory Garden

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Name that . . .you! | Joe's Musings

Leave a Reply

